t h e   C r i c k e t   S p o r t
West Indies


Governing Body





The West Indian cricket team, also known colloquially as the West Indies or the Windies, is a multi-national cricket team representing a sporting confederation of 15 mainly English-speaking Caribbean countries, British dependencies and non-British dependencies. From the mid 1970s to the early 1990s, the West Indies team was one of the strongest in the world in both Test and One Day International cricket. A number of cricketers considered among the best in the world have hailed from the West Indies; Sir Garfield Sobers, Lance Gibbs, Gordon Greenidge, George Headley, Clive Lloyd, Malcolm Marshall, Andy Roberts, Alvin Kallicharran, Rohan Kanhai and Everton Weekes have all been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame, while world-record holders Brian Lara and Sir Viv Richards were both West Indies Test players. The West Indies have won the ICC Cricket World Cup twice in 1975 and 1979, the ICC Champions Trophy once in 2004 and have been runners up in the Under 19 Cricket World Cup in 2004 and have been semi finalist in the ICC World Twenty20 in 2009. The first cricket team to win World Cup twice, their record was surpassed by 4 World Cup wins by Australia, and equaled by India in 2011. West Indies are also the first team to win back to back World Cups, since surpassed by 3 consecutive World Cup wins by Australia. West Indies is the first team to appear in 3 consecutive World Cup finals (1975, 1979 and 1983), since surpassed by 4 consecutive World Cup appearances by Australia (1996, 1999, 2003 & 2007). The history of the West Indies cricket team began in the 1890s, when the first representative sides were selected to play visiting English sides. The WICB joined the sport's international ruling body, the Imperial Cricket Conference, in 1926, and played their first official international match, granted Test status, in 1928 thus becoming the fourth Test nation. Although blessed with some great players in their early days as a Test nation, and beating England for the first time at Lord's on 29 June 1950, their successes remained sporadic until the 1960s when the side changed from a white-dominated to a black-dominated side. The 1980s saw them set a then-record streak of 11 consecutive Test victories in 1984 and inflict two 5–0 "blackwashes" against the old enemy of England. Throughout the 1990s and 2000s, however, West Indian cricket declined, largely due to the failure of the West Indian Cricket Board to move the game from an amateur pastime to a professional sport coupled with the general economic decline in West Indian countries, and the team today is struggling to regain its past glory.
Join Facebook