t h e   C r i c k e t   S p o r t
Sri Lanka


Governing Body





The Sri Lankan cricket team is the national cricket team of Sri Lanka. The team first played international cricket in 1926–27, and were later awarded Test status in 1981, which made Sri Lanka the eighth Test cricket playing nation. The team is administered by Sri Lanka Cricket. Sri Lanka's national cricket team transformed the country from underdog status to a major cricketing nation during the 1990s. The team went on to win the 1996 Cricket World Cup, beating Australia in the finals, and becoming World Champions. Since then, the team has continued to be a major force in international cricket. The Sri Lankan cricket team currently holds several world records, including world records for highest team totals in all three forms of the game, Test, ODI and Twenty20. Sri Lanka is the fourth nation to reach two consecutive World Cup Finals (2007 and 2011), after West Indies (1975, 1979 and 1983), Australia (1996, 1999, 2003 and 2007) and England (1987 and 1992).
Join Facebook