t h e   C r i c k e t   S p o r t
Rajasthan Royals


Rajasthan Royals is an Indian Premier League franchise based on the city of the Jaipur captained and coached by former Australian leg-spinner Shane Warne. They were the champions of the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League.
2008 Session The team lost its first match against the Delhi Daredevils in a 9 wicket loss. However the Royals won their next game by defeating the Kings XI Punjab and continued to win the next five games in a row. Shane Warne's captaincy and simultaneous coaching was praised and well received by everyone, including opposition teams. The Royals secured a place in the finals with a victory against the Delhi Daredevils.2008 Session The Rajasthan Royals became the winner of the first IPL tournament, when they defeated the Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets in the final played on 1 June 2008. With the scores level with one ball remaining. Sohail Tanvir finished the tournament in possession of the Purple Cap (the IPL's leading wicket taker) and Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was declared the Man of the Series.
2009 season The Royals did not have a good start during the 2009 season. Rajasthan started to gain momentum slowly with Yusuf Pathan's explosive performances in victories against Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils giving hope to the Royals and their fans. However, inconsistency became a major factor; and the absence of previous year's stars Sohail Tanvir and Shane Watson was also a major factor. The Royals failed to make it to the semifinals after losing their last two matches against Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders.
2010 season Rajasthan started the season looking to emulate their success in 2008 but suffered a three game losing streak at the start of the tournament. They bounced back well with a four game winning streak but they were knocked out after a defeat against the Kolkata Knight Riders in their final game of the third season of the IPL.
2011 season The Royals play their first IPL 2011 match against the Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad on 9 April 2011.
Join Facebook