t h e   C r i c k e t   S p o r t


Governing Body





The Dutch cricket team is a national cricket team representing the Netherlands. It is administered by the Koninklijke Nederlandse Cricket Bond (Royal Dutch Cricket Association) which is based in Nieuwegein in the centre of the country and is older than many renowned cricket clubs in the West Indies, Australia, and New Zealand. Cricket has been played in the Netherlands since at least the 19th century, and in the 1860s was considered a major sport in the country. Many other sports (notably football) have long since surpassed cricket in popularity amongst the Dutch, and today there are around 6,000 cricketers in the Netherlands, making it the 25th most popular sport. The first national association, the forerunner of today's Royal Dutch Cricket Association, was formed in 1883 and the Netherlands achieved Associate Membership of the ICC in 1966. The Dutch team has taken part in all eight ICC Trophy tournaments, winning the competition in Canada in 2001 and finishing as runners-up twice (in 1986 and 1990). The Netherlands have also participated in the 1996, 2003, 2007 and 2011 Cricket World Cups, and from 1996 onwards entered the English domestic NatWest Trophy competition (and its successor, the C&G Trophy). In 2004 they played first-class cricket as part of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, drawing with Scotland in Aberdeen and then going down to an innings defeat against Ireland in Deventer. In 2005 the Dutch team beat the UAE to finish fifth in the ICC Trophy, a slightly disappointing result but one which meant that they qualified for the 2007 World Cup and would gain full One Day International status from 1 January 2006 until the 2009 ICC Trophy.
Latest Results
3rd OneDay : Netherlands v Zimbabwe at Sportpark Westvliet Netherlands 279 (49.3/50 ov); Zimbabwe 130 (26.3/50 ov) Netherlands won by 149 runs 2nd OneDay : Netherlands v Zimbabwe at VRA Cricket Ground Netherlands 291/6 (50/50 ov); Zimbabwe 231/4 (36/37 ov, target: 229) Zimbabwe won by 6 wickets (with 6 balls remaining) (D/L method) Ist OneDay : Netherlands v Zimbabwe at VRA Cricket Ground Netherlands 142 (37.5/50 ov); Zimbabwe 144/4 (30.2/50 ov) Zimbabwe won by 6 wickets (with 118 balls remaining) 10th T20 : Hong Kong v Netherlands at Dubai International Cricket Stadium Hong Kong 183/4 (20/20 ov); Netherlands 92 (15.3/20 ov) Hong Kong won by 91 runs 8th T20 : Netherlands v Scotland at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium Scotland 148/7 (20/20 ov); Netherlands 141 (19.2/20 ov) Scotland won by 7 runs
Join Facebook