t h e   C r i c k e t   S p o r t
Kings XI Punjab


Kings XI Punjab is a cricket franchise based in Mohali, Punjab in the Indian Premier League. For the IPL3, an additional venue has been chosen at Dharamsala.
Franchise History The first owners of the franchise included Preity Zinta, Karan Paul (Apeejay Surendera Group) and Mohit Burman (Dabur). On 10 October 2010 the franchise agreement of Kings eleven was terminated by the IPL committee along with Rajasthan Royals due to their disputes.
2008 Session The tournament got off to a slow start for the Kings XI, with the team losing their first two games. However, despite losing and powered by their balanced bowling lineup and effective top order, the team won 9 of its next 10 matches, clinching a birth in the semi-final. In the semi-final, their run in the tournament came to an end with a comprehensive 9 wicket loss to the Chennai Super Kings.
2009 season The Kings XI Punjab started with enormous ambitions to win the trophy. The Punjab Kings started badly losing to the Delhi Daredevils and the Kolkata Knight Riders. Then the team witnessed a roller-coaster ride in their next eight matches with 4 wins and 4 losses. The team's semi-final hopes were crushed after losing to the Chennai Super Kings in their last match.
2010 season Kings XI Punjab lost six matches but managed to win a match against Chennai Super Kings when the scores were level and the match went to a Super Over. Shaun Marsh returned in the match against Mumbai Indians. Despite of his good performance, which included a half century, the team lost the match. They ended in last position.
2011 season Adam Gilchrist was traded from the Deccan Chargers and was given the captaincy of KXIP.They lost their first match and then one three matches back to back. Then they won 4 matches and lost their next match to deccan chargers which finished their dream to make it the playoffs and gave mumbai indians and kolkatta knight riders a chance to make to the playoffs.
Join Facebook