t h e   C r i c k e t   S p o r t


Governing Body





The Indian cricket team is the national cricket team of India. Governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), it is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with Test and One Day International (ODI) status. Although cricket was introduced to India by European merchant sailors in the 18th-century and the first cricket club in India was established in Calcutta in 1792, India's national cricket team did not play their first Test match until 25 June 1932 at Lord's. They became the sixth team to be granted Test cricket status. In their first fifty years of international cricket, India proved weaker than Australia and England, winning only 35 of the 196 test matches. The team, however, gained strength near the end of the 1970s with the emergence of players such as Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev and the Indian spin quartet Erapalli Prasanna and Srinivas Venkataraghavan (both off spinners), Bhagwat Chandrasekhar (a leg spinner), and Bishen Singh Bedi (a left-arm spinner). Traditionally much stronger at home than abroad, the Indian team has improved its overseas form since the start of the 21st century. It won the Cricket World Cup in 1983 under Kapil Dev, was runners-up in 2003 under Sourav Ganguly, and won the World Cup a second time in 2011 under MS Dhoni. India have also been the Runners-up in 2000 ICC KnockOut Trophy, and the Joint Champions along with Sri Lanka in 2002 ICC Champions Trophy led by Sourav Ganguly in both the instances. India also won the inaugural World Twenty20 under Mahendra Singh Dhoni in 2007
Latest Results
Only T20 : India v West Indies at Sabina Park India 190/6 (20/20 ov); West Indies 194/1 (18.3/20 ov) West Indies won by 9 wickets (with 9 balls remaining) 5th OneDay : India v West Indies at Sabina Park West Indies 205/9 (50/50 ov); India 206/2 (36.5/50 ov) India won by 8 wickets (with 79 balls remaining) 4th OneDay : India v West Indies at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium West Indies 189/9 (50/50 ov); India 178 (49.4/50 ov) West Indies won by 11 runs 3rd OneDay : India v West Indies at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium India 251/4 (50/50 ov); West Indies 158 (38.1/50 ov) India won by 93 runs 2nd OneDay : India v West Indies at Queen's Park Oval India 310/5 (43/43 ov); West Indies 205/6 (43/43 ov) India won by 105 runs
Join Facebook