t h e   C r i c k e t   S p o r t


Governing Body





The England and Wales cricket team is a cricket team which represents England and Wales. Until 1992 it also represented Scotland. Since 1 January 1997 it has been governed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), having been previously governed by Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) from 1903 until the end of 1996. The first recorded incidence of a team with a claim to represent England comes from 9 July 1739 when an "All-England" team, which consisted of eleven gentlemen from any part of England exclusive of Kent, played against "the Unconquerable County" of Kent and lost by a "very few notches". Such matches were repeated on numerous occasions for the best part of a century. In 1846 William Clarke formed the All-England Eleven. This team would eventually compete against a United All-England Eleven with annual matches occurring between 1857 to 1866. These matches were arguably the most important contest of the English season, if judged by the quality of the players.
Upcoming Match
Ist Test : EnglandvSouth Africa at Lord's Cricket Ground 06 Jul 2017 ( local | GMT) See More 2nd Test : EnglandvSouth Africa at Trent Bridge Ground 14 Jul 2017 ( local | GMT) See More 4th Test : EnglandvSouth Africa at Kennington Oval 27 Jul 2017 ( local | GMT) See More 4th Test : EnglandvSouth Africa at Old Trafford Cricket Ground 04 Aug 2017 ( local | GMT) See More
Latest Results
Ist OneDay : England v Pakistan at Sophia Gardens England 211 (49.5/50 ov); Pakistan 215/2 (37.1/50 ov) Pakistan won by 8 wickets (with 77 balls remaining) 10th OneDay : England v Australia at Edgbaston Australia 277/9 (50/50 ov); England 240/4 (40.2/40.2 ov, target: 201) England won by 40 runs (D/L method) 6th OneDay : England v New Zealand at Sophia Gardens England 310 (49.3/50 ov); New Zealand 223 (44.3/50 ov) England won by 87 runs Ist OneDay : England v Bangladesh at Kennington Oval Bangladesh 305/6 (50/50 ov); England 308/2 (47.2/50 ov) England won by 8 wickets (with 16 balls remaining) 3rd OneDay : England v South Africa at Lord's Cricket Ground England 153 (31.1/50 ov); South Africa 156/3 (28.5/50 ov) South Africa won by 7 wickets (with 127 balls remaining)
Join Facebook